Uniting Church logo

The Uniting Church in Australia

The Uniting Church in Australia (UCA) is the third largest Christian denomination in Australia. It was formed in 1977 as a union of three churches: the Congregational Union of Australia, the Methodist Church of Australasia and the Presbyterian Church of Australia.

In uniting, the members of those bodies testified to “that unity which is both Christ’s gift and will for the Church”. Ecumenism remains a vital aspect in all of the church’s life and work – in congregations, national commitments to work together with other churches, and relationships and partnerships with churches of various denominations in Asia and the Pacific.

You can read more about the missional and ecumenical vision of the UCA in the Basis of Union.

The Uniting Church in Australia, Queensland Synod

In Queensland, the Uniting Church has around 250 congregations and a number of schools, colleges and community services (such as UnitingCare Queensland and Wesley Mission Qld).

The Uniting Church in Queensland is committed to: Uniting in Christ; acting with love, living with hope, witnessing in faith, and working for justice.

For the latest UCA Queensland news and views, check out the online Journey magazine.